Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE) is a voluntary, non-competitive programme of activities for anyone aged 14-24. Doing their DofE gives young people the opportunity to experience new activities or develop existing skills.

There are three progressive levels of programmes which, when successfully completed, lead to a bronze, silver or gold award. Young people create their own DofE programme by choosing volunteering, physical and skills activities, going on an expedition and, for their gold only, taking part in a residential activity.

Within Scouting, this links directly to the chief scout’s platinum, diamond and Queen’s scout awards.

The DofE is delivered through a number of licensed providers, of which The Scout Association is one of the largest in the country.

The DofE is open to young people aged 14-24 and is available at three levels:

  • Bronze: for those aged 14 and over
  • Silver: for those aged 15 and over
  • Gold: for those aged 16 and over

The programme consists of participation in activities within four or five sections (residential only available at gold level).

  • Volunteering: undertaking service to individuals or the community.
  • Physical: improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activities.
  • Skills: developing practical and social skills and personal interests.
  • Expeditions: planning, training for and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad.
  • Residential (gold award only): staying and working away from home during a shared activity.

Prices as from 1st April 2018

Bronze – £21.00

Silver – £21.00

Gold – £28.00


For further details about completing the award please click here